Hardtop Headliner Installation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hardtop Headliner Installation

I have a new headliner, rubber and glass and am ready to do the installation on my restored hardtop. First time doing this. I have looked over a number of posts and am not able to view a number of the images that are posted. Any ideas how to access? Also, as I am fitting this headliner I seem to have trouble getting the C-pillar portion to align. Any suggestions? And, do I make snips on either side of the B-pillars to let the fabric fit? I'm sure I'll have other questions.

Here is a good thread by Wolf. Thankfully he hosted his pictures on Photobucket. After the site got hacked two years or so ago, the photos hosted on the site for the posts were lost.

https://forums.6-pack.org/the-6-pack...ruction-a-to-z

Maybe this will help

https://forums.6-pack.org/the-6-pack...-wrinkles-sags

I've been talking about doing my hardtop for 5 years now........
    Last edited by skootch13; 01-01-2021, 11:03 AM.
    1972 Sapphire TR6 #CC84,something

1973 Harvest Yellow MGB V8

Comment

A little progress today.

Comment

I've never done a hardtop but I work with contact cement all the time making interior panel kits where you basically get one shot at aligning pieces so here's the tip that looks like it should work. After you apply contact cement to the upside down hardtop and it's flashed so it's "dry" to the touch..... lay down long pieces of wax paper that over hang the sides. Now when you spray the fabric with contact cement and let it flash, you can lay the fabric on the wax paper and get everything positioned to your liking..... and just carefully slide the wax paper out a little at a time as you smooth the fabric. This is actually and old cabinet making tip for doing Formica back in the olden days.
        1975 Mimosa with a few upgrades/mods:
        Patton TBI
        HVDA Toyota 5 speed
        Goodparts Nissan Diff
        Goodparts CVJs