Brake Frustration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brake Frustration

Well, after two and a half years I am finally finishing up my restoration/recreation, but am becoming increasingly frustrated over the brakes. Everything is either new or rebuilt by people who have been recommended on this forum. I cannot get a firm brake pedal, no matter what I do. I have bled the brakes by the pump method, vacuum method and the pump up sprayer method, which by the way is awesome. After each method and no longer getting air through the bleeders, the pedal will feel so so, but as soon as I start the engine and the vacuum booster kicks in, the pedal goes to the floor. The original TRW master cylinder that I bought from Moss haId air bubbles releasing into the reservoir each time I pumped the brakes, so I assumed that I got a bad master cylinder. I ordered another from Rimmer Brothers and it is doing the same thing. Am I missing something here...I don't believe there should be air being pumped into the reservoir. Are TRW master cylinders that bad?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
    1970ish CC54713L
    HVDA Toyota 5spd
    Nissan Diff
    Miata Seats

Brake booster is bad or leaking into the master?

Try removing the vac hose to the booster and be sure to plug it so the car will run. Does your pedal still go to the floor after you start the car?
    1972 Sapphire TR6 #CC84,something

1959 Red TR3 (Wife's)

Comment

No, air bubbles coming back is not normal if you bled all the air out. I suspect a seal in master assuming all 4 line connections at the MC are air tight. TRW ain’t what it used to be, probably made overseas. I’ve never bought a new MC because of all the bad press on the repops. I rebuilt my original with a kit fromTRF 10 years ago since the bore was not pitted and it has worked fine with DOT 3 and now 5 for over 6 years.
      72 Pimento w/overdrive

Comment

Sounds like a bad booster first....